Minnesota Women's Cross Country
©Golden Gophers Athletics 2017

Prescott Earns Sportsmanship Award

Elyse Prescott-Urbandale-Minnesota ©Golden Gophers 2017

Elyse Prescott-Urbandale-Minnesota
©Golden Gophers 2017

Gophers Bethany Hasz and Megan Haszearned All-Big Ten honors and Elyse Prescott was named Minnesota’s B1G Sportsmanship Award recipient as the Big Ten Conference announced its individual award recipients and sportsmanship honorees on Tuesday after Sunday’s Big Ten Cross Country Championship.

Courtesy Golden Gophers Athletics, click here! Feature photo: Minnesota Women’s Cross Country©Golden Gophers Athletics 2017

B. Hasz earned a place on the All-Big Ten First Team after leading the Gophers at the B1G Championship with a fifth-place finish, marking the highest Big Ten finish of her career after she placed 10th a year ago and was 20th as a freshman in 2016. She posted a career-best 6K time of 20:14.1 to move into fourth on Minnesota’s all-time 6K performers list.

Meanwhile, M. Hasz clocked a season-best time of 20:30.5 to finish 12th overall and earn her third All-Big Ten cross country award of her career with a place on this year’s second team.

The Big Ten Conference has also announced that Michigan head coach Mike McGuire has been named Big Ten Coach of the Year and Wolverine rookie Anne Forsyth was tabbed Big Ten Freshman of the Year. The Big Ten Cross Country Athlete of the Year will be announced on Tuesday, Nov. 20, following the NCAA Championship.

Prescott was named one of 14 Big Ten Sportsmanship Award honorees as well. The students chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. These students must also be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.

Before beginning the NCAA postseason at the NCAA Midwest Regional (Nov. 9), Minnesota wraps up the regular season by hosting Rocky’s Run at Les Bolstad Course this Sunday, Nov. 4. The open 6K race begins at 10:30 a.m. CT. The race is open to the public with a registration fee of $10 and online registration is available now.