More LOVE for Wartburg Track! Newsom “Coach of the Year!”

The U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) announced on Friday the nation’s top leaders as voted by the coaches of NCAA’s Division III for the 2012 outdoor season. McMurry’s Barbara Crousen and Wartburg’s Marcus Newsom were named National Coaches of the Year while North Central’s Tim Winder and Illinois Wesleyan’s Greg Huffaker were named the top assistants of the division.

Newsom, in his 14th year at Wartburg, coached his squad to one of the best performances in history this season. At the NCAA outdoor meet, Wartburg won the national title with a (current scoring method) meet-record 129 points and topping the field by a meet-record margin of 77 points. Of Wartburg’s 27 entries into the national meet, 20 earned scoring positions and five won national crowns. Freshman Alana Enabnit, Clear Lake, won NCAA titles in the 5000 and 10,000 meters. Senior Nevada Morrison won the 400 meters, her sister Skye won the long jump, and the duo paired to help the Knights to the 4×400 relay national crown.

At the IIAC Championships, Wartburg scored a meet-record 353 points.

Past Winners:

  •  2012: Marcus Newsom, Wartburg
  •  2011: Pat Ebel, UW-Oshkosh
  •  2010: Chris Schumacher, Illinois Wesleyan
  •  2009: Marcus Newsom, Wartburg
  •  2008: Patrick Zarate, Texas Lutheran