Iowa State Women's  XC 2018
©Cyclones Athletics

Cyclone Men and Women Claim Conference Titles!


The No. 17 Iowa State women’s cross country team captured its seventh Big 12 Championship in the last eight seasons Friday afternoon at the ISU Cross Country Course. The Cyclones made it three consecutive conference titles, winning the 2018 crown with a team score of 35 points, 27 points clear of second place Oklahoma State (52).

Courtesy Cyclone athletic, click here! Feature Photo:Iowa State Men’s XC 2018 ©Cyclones Athletics 2018


Sophomore Cailie Logue was the individual Big 12 Champion. Logue dethroned two-time defending Big 12 Champion Sharon Lokedi of Kansas. Logue found her stride and reeled off a memorable final 1K that carried her across in the finish line in first place in 19:53.8.

Logue becomes Iowa State’s first Big 12 Champion since 2015 when Perez Rotich took home the individual title.

First-year women’s head coach Amy Rudolph‘s team poured in an outstanding group effort. Iowa State accounted for five of the top-11 runners individually,

Senior Anne Frisbie and sophomore Amanda Vestri finished sixth and seventh, respectively. Frisbie finished in a time of 20:26.3, followed closely by Vestri in 20:26.3. This is the third time Frisbie has earned All-Big 12 honors and Vestri’s second time.

Also earning All-Big 12 recognition for Iowa State was senior Kelly Naumann and sophomore Larkin Chapman. Naumann crossed the finish line in 20:51.2 for a tenth-place finish and her second All-Big 12 finish, and Chapman finished 11th with a time of 20:51.3.

To make the Iowa State victory even more significant, the Cyclone men also captured their second-consecutive Big 12 title.

Iowa State turns its focus to the NCAA Regional meet. The Cyclones will head to Peoria, Illinois on Friday, Nov. 9 to defend their Midwest Regional Final and look to qualify for the NCAA Cross Country Championships.

Iowa State Results
1. Cailie Logue – 19:53.8
6. Anne Frisbie – 20:26.3
7. Amanda Vestri – 20:35.8
10. Kelly Naumann – 20:51.2
11. Larkin Chapman – 20:51.3
23. Karly Ackley – 21:08.0
29. Abby Caldwell – 21:23.0
31. Morgan Gigandet – 21:25.5
44. Adriana Krammerer – 21:45.1
45. Gwynne Wright – 21:45.5

Team Scores
1. Iowa State – 35

2. Oklahoma State – 52
3. Kansas – 90
4. West Virginia – 96
5. Texas – 113
6. Oklahoma – 207
7. Texas Tech – 217
8. TCU – 223
9. Baylor – 238
10. Kansas State – 240


The No. 6 Iowa State men’s cross country team brought home its second-consecutive Big 12 championship on Friday morning at the ISU Cross Country Course. The Cyclones captured the 2018 conference title with a team score of 32 points, edging second-place Oklahoma State by eight points (40).

Courtesy Cyclones Athletics, click here!


Junior Edwin Kurgat was crowned the individual Big 12 Champion to become Iowa State’s first-ever Big 12 individual champion. Kurgat was neck-and-neck with Oklahoma State’s Isai Rodriguez for much of the race before eventually pulling away from the Cowboy down the stretch to cross the finish line in 23:21.6.

Just like the 2017 Big 12 Championship performance, head coach Martin Smith received a full team effort from his squad. In total, Iowa State accounted for five of the top-11 finishers in the race.

All-American Andrew Jordan earned his third-straight All-Big 12 honor with a fifth-place finish in 23:45.9. Senior Dan Curts was close behind in sixth place with a time of 23:50.3. This marks the second time that Curts has been recognized as an All-Conference performer.

After an outstanding postseason in 2017, sophomore Milo Greder picked up where he left off. Greder took ninth individually in a time of 24:11.4 to earn All-Big 12 honors for the second-straight season. Cyclone rookie Chad Johnson finished 11th in 24:14.4 to round out the Cyclone lineup.

The men were not alone in claiming a Big 12 Championship. The Iowa State women kicked off the day with a team title as well, and Cailie Logue raced to an individual Big 12 title to give the Cyclones a clean sweep.

Iowa State turns its focus to the NCAA Regional meet. The Cyclones will head to Peoria, Illinois on Friday, Nov. 9 to defend their Midwest Regional Final and look to book a trip to the NCAA Cross Country Championships

Iowa State Results
1. Edwin Kurgat – 23:21.1
5. Andrew Jordan – 23:45.9
6. Dan Curts – 23:50.3
9. Milo Greder – 24:11.4
11. Chad Johnson – 24:14.4

Team Scores
1. Iowa State – 32

2. Oklahoma State – 40
3. Texas – 70
4. Kansas – 79
5. Kansas State – 162
6. Texas Tech – 166
7. Oklahoma – 182
8. Baylor – 217
9. TCU – 246