Mt Mercy Cross Country 2018
©Mustangs Athletics 2018

Mustangs Take Team Titles at Mustang Gallop

©Mustangs Athletics 2017

©Mustangs Athletics 2017

The Mount Mercy women’s cross country team won the team and individual titles while the Mustang men were runner-up at the 25th Annual Mustang Gallop on Friday night at Seminole Valley Park.

Courtesy Mustangs Athletics, click here! Feature photo: ©Mustangs Athletic 2018


Mount Mercy’s Andrea Ertz captured the women’s 4K race by a three-second margin with a winning time of 15:55. She edged former teammate and Mustang alum Katie Hoffert, who crossed the finish line in 15:58.

Mount Mercy’s top seven also included Vanessa Cortes (3rd/16:14), Emily Erickson (6th/16:31), Samantha Croghan (7th/16:32), Allison Woods (13th/16:57), Mady Roth (15th/17:15), and McKenzie Mellecker (17th/17:30).

The Mustangs earned the team championship with a total of 30 points. That was better than runner-up Cornell (43 pts.), Coe (66 pts.), and Dubuque (88 pts.)

James Lindstrom was Mount Mercy’s top finisher in the men’s 5K, finishing fifth in 15:50. Aaron Golding (7th/16:43), Cameron Steffens (10th/16:56), Colton Forster (12th/16:58), Michael Marshall (14th/17:04), Jacob Blackmon (19th/17:23), and Chase Kress (30th/18:17) were Mount Mercy’s top seven.

Cornell defended their men’s team title, securing the win with 27 points. Next was Mount Mercy (48 pts.), followed by Dubuque (52 pts.), Iowa Track & Field Club (122 pts.), Coe (134 pts.), Scott Community College (175 pts.), and Southeastern Community College (189 pts.).

Also on the line in the Mustang Gallop was the Coe-Stang Trophy, an annual dual between Coe and Mount Mercy. Combined men’s and women’s results by the intra-city rivals determine the winner, with the Mustangs coming out on top once again.

Mount Mercy goes to Kenosha, Wis., for the Vic Godfrey Open on Saturday, Sept. 8, at 10:30 a.m. at the University of Wisconsin-Parkside.