UNI Track
©Courtesy Panthers Athletics 2020

Panthers MVC Champions!


Tayshaun Cooper-Waterloo-UNI ©Panthers Athletics 2020

Tayshaun Cooper-Waterloo-UNI
©Panthers Athletics 2020

UNI men’s track and field took first place for the first time in 11 years and 18th overall with a total of 143.5 points, over 30 points better than second-place teams Illinois State and Southern Illinois. The women finished in fifth place overall with 71.5 points, 2.5 points shy of third place.

Courtesy Panthers Athletics, click Here! Feature photo: UNI Track©Courtesy Panthers Athletics 2020

Isaiah Trousil and Darius King earned championships and 17 Panthers earned 23 All-Conference finishes. Trousil and King earned gold in the 200-meter dash and shot put respectively.

Tayshaun Cooper and Isaiah Trousil earned three All-Conference honors followed by Darius Kingand Cameron Bauer with two honors. Cooper and Trousil earned honors in 60-meter dash, 200-meter dash, and the 4×400 relay. King medaled in weight throw and shot put. Bauer saw the podium in pole vault and triple jump.

Teammates Jack Sumners, Chase Van Sant, Kyler Yodts, Isabelle Holtzen, Hannah Schau, Megan Hudson, Wal Khat, Cameron Cantrall, Thomas Yezek, Allison Griffin, Elijah Hicks, Thai Thompsonand Dan Blocker join the list of honorees.

On Sunday, the championship resumed with men’s heptathlon where Thompson recorded a personal best in the pole vault at a mark of 4.11m. Thompson ended the events in third place with a total of 5,035 points.

Cantrall earned more points for the Panthers with a third-place finish in high jump with a height of 2.04m. On his last attempt, Bauer recorded a personal best mark of 14.76m in the triple jump placing him in third. Griffin took bronze in the women’s shot put on a season best throw of 14.89m. King and Yezek closed out the field events by going 1-2 in the shot put with distances of 19.09m and 18.71m respectively.

Cooper and Trousil rose onto the podium for the first time with second and third place finishes in the 60-meter dash with times of 6.78 and 6.82. They returned following the 200-meter dash in first and third place with times of 21.49 and 21.72. Hicks and Blocker joined them on the podium after finishing third in the 4×400 relay with a time of 3:19.64.

Schau and Hudson finished back-to-back to take second and third in the 60-meter hurdles with times of 8.72 and 8.78.

Khat came from behind to earn second place in the 800-meter run with a time of 1:54.06.

For most of the team, the championship concludes the indoor season, but for King, who sits 14th in the NCAA in the shot put, will likely take a trip to Albuquerque, N.M. for the Indoor Track and Field Championship on March 13-14. Only the top 16 competitors at every event advance to the NCAA Indoor Championship.

Jack Sumners – LJ (3)
Chase Van Sant – LJ (2)
Darius King – WT (3), SP (1)
Kyler Yodts – WT (2)
Isabelle Holtzen – PV (3)
Cam Bauer – PV (3), TJ (3)
Isaiah Trousil – 60m (2), 200m (1), 4×400 (3)
Tayshaun Cooper – 60m (3), 200m (3), 4×400 (3)
Hannah Schau – 60m H (2)
Megan Hudson – 60m H (3)
Wal Khat – 800m (2)
Cameron Cantrall – HJ (3)
Tom Yezek – SP (2)
Allison Griffin – SP (3)
Eli Hicks – 4×400 (3)
Dan Blocker – 4×400 (3)
Thai Thompson – Hept. (3)

TOP-8 FINISHES (Earned Points):
60m – Isaiah Trousil (2), Tayshaun Cooper (3), Eli Hicks (6)
60m H – Jack Sumers (6)
200m – Isaiah Trousil (1), Tayshaun Cooper (3), Eli Hicks (5)
800m – Wal Khat (2)
Mile – CJ May (7)
High Jump – Cameron Cantrall (3)
Long Jump – Chase Van Sant (2), Jack Sumners (7), Cade Kirkpatrick (8)
Pole Vault – Cam Bauer (3)
Shot Put – Darius King (1), Tom Yezek (2), Kyler Yodts (5), William Blaser (6), Keegan Tritle(7)
Triple Jump – Cam Bauer (3)
Weight Throw – Kyler Yodts (2), Darius King (3), Cam Jones (8)
4×400 Relay (3)
Distance Medley Relay (6)

60m H – Hannah Schau (2), Megan Hudson (3)
200m – Taylor Raines (5), Tyler Gray (6)
800m – Dianna Slight (5), Katie Nimrod (6)
5,000m – McKayla Cole (5)
Pole Vault – Isabelle Holtzen (3), Cierra Laux (5)
Shot Put – Allison Griffin (3), Morgan Nealey (5)
Weight Throw – Alanna Nietert (4), Allison Griffin (6)
4×400 Relay (6)
Distance Medley Relay (5)