More Academic Honors for the University of Iowa!

The University of Iowa women’s track and field team has been named an all-academic team by the United States Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) for the eighth consecutive season. The Hawkeyes combined for a team grade point average of 3.18 through the 2012 indoor and outdoor seasons.

To qualify for this distinction, a team must have a 3.00-cumulative GPA at the end of the NCAA championship season. Iowa was one of nine Big Ten schools to make the list comprised of 171 Division I women’s track and field teams.

The USTFCCCA also named 13 Hawkeye student-athletes, including a school record nine women, to the Division I All-Academic Track & Field team. Brooke Eilers, Betsy Flood, Dowling Catholic, Jackie Laesch, Kevin Lewis, Ottumwa, McKenzie Melander, Megan Ranegar, Keaton Rickels, Iowa Falls/Alden, Victoria Sack, Mareike Schrulle, Hannah Simonson, Jefferson-Scranton, Annemie Smith, Erik Sowinski and Ben Stancombe were among the more than 1,000 Division I student-athletes to earn the honor.