2017 Golden Gopher Xc Award Winners
©Golden Gophers 2017

Iowans Enjoy Season Awards For Golden Gophers

Abby Kohut-Jackson-Ballard-Minnesota ©Golden Gophers 2017

Abby Kohut-Jackson-Ballard-Minnesota
©Golden Gophers 2017

The Golden Gophers celebrated the 2017 cross country season with their annual team banquet at TCF Bank Stadium on Sunday. Minnesota handed out its end-of-season awards along with honoring its team captains and letterwinners.

Courtesy Golden Gopher Athletics, click here! Feature photo; ©Golden Gopher Athletics


The Gophers honored 2017 team captains Amelia Barczi, Bailey Ness, Patty O’Brien, Paige Peschel, and Madeline Strandemo for their commitment to the team and leadership during the season.

Strandemo earned her fourth letter while Courtney Alama, Emily Betz, Molly Eastman, Ness, and O’Brien were recognized with their third letter awards. Bethany Hasz; Megan Hasz, and Elyse Prescott earned their second letter awards, and first-time letterwinners Emily Castanias, Delaney FitzPatrick, Lindsey Greenlund, Abby Kohut-Jackson, Zetta Mason, Samantha Prouty, Sarah Werking, Rachel Wians, and Barczi received their University of Minnesota letter jackets as well.

2017 Gopher Team Awards

Madeline Strandemo
Bethany Hasz
Megan Hasz

Iron Gopher
Kelsey Sather

Blue Collar
Courtney Alama
Kelli Schmidt

Freshman of the Year
Abby Kohut-Jackson

Carl Barylak Inspiration Award
Amelia Barczi

Elyse Prescott-Urbandale-Minnesota ©Golden Gophers 2017

Elyse Prescott-Urbandale-Minnesota
©Golden Gophers 2017

Tough as Nails
Bailey Ness
Elyse Prescott

Most Improved
Cairssa Dock
Abby Lange
Zetta Mason

Academic Commitment
Zetta Mason

Coaches Award
Paige Peschel
Rachel Wians