D1 Nationals 2019
©Michael Scott 2019 http://miscottrunningphoto.shutterfly.com

Iowan’s Cross Country Season Wrap

Trina Moreno-Urbandale-Utah ©Michael Scott 2019 http://miscottrunningphoto.shutterfly.com

Trina Moreno-Urbandale-Utah
©Michael Scott 2019 http://miscottrunningphoto.shutterfly.com

The 2019 Cross Country season will be one that Iowans will remember for a long time because it was a good one at ALL levels.

Feature photo: NCAA D1 Women’s Nationals ©Michael Scott 2019http://miscottrunningphoto.shutterfly.com


At the high school state meet in Ft. Dodge there were many highlights but a few stood out above the rest:

4A Girls-Camille Jackson, a senior from Ames kept her undefeated season in tact by shattering the state meet course record by running 17:23.9.  Sophomore Ashlyn Keeney of Iowa City Liberty also broke the old record of 17:52 by finishing 2nd to Jackson in 17:44.1

Mid Prairie senior, Marie Hostetler who came into the state meet as the course record holder, won her 3rd consecutive 2A title.  The Liberty University recruit was 2nd as a freshman.

The Dowling Catholic boys won their 6th 4A team title out of the last 9 years.

Both the 3A boys (DC-G 109 and Clear Creek Amana 110) and the 2A girls (Mid Prairie 63 and Williamsburg 62) team titles were decided by 1 point.

Logan Magnolia (1A) and Mid Prairie (2A) defended their titles.  This was 3 in a row for Mid Prairie.

Madrid (1A), Tipton (2A) and Dowling (4A) defended their titles on the boys side.

Here is your link to full 2019 state meet results:  https://www.iahsaa.org/2019-cross-country-state-meet-results/

In the College/University ranks, Iowa was well represented in all divisions at the national level.

NJCAA Women’s Team: 1) Iowa Central  11) Iowa Western  16) NIACC   31) DMAAC  36) Hawkeye

Iowa Top 10 individual finishers: 1) Faith Chepengat, Iowa Western  4) Winrose Chesang, Iowa Central              5) Elenora Curtabbi, Iowa Central  7) Florance Uwajeneza, Iowa Central

NJCAA Men’s Team: 3) Iowa Central   8) Iowa Western   18) NIACC    20) Hawkeye   28) Indian Hills                                  33) DMAAC   34) SWCC

Iowa Top 10 Individual finishers: 3) Kassim Kibet, Iowa Western   6) Shawn Kiptoo, Iowa Western

NAIA Women’s Team: 21) Mt. Mercy   23) Dordt

Iowa Top 100 individual finishers: 45) Olivia Couch, Dordt   54) Michaela Pieroni, St. Ambrose   71) Vanessa Cortes, Mt. Mercy    77) Sarah Wensink, Dordt (Unity Christian)   89) Andrea Ertz, Mt. Mercy (Marion)

NAIA Men’s Team: 16) Dordt

Iowa Top 100 individual finishers: 57) Eric Steiger, Dordt  82) Jacob Vander Plaats, Dordt (Unity Christian)

D3 Women’s Team: 6) Wartburg

Iowa Top 50 individual finishers: 5) Kassie Rosenbum, Loras (Clayton Ridge)  11) Carina Collet, Wartburg   25) Audrey Miller, Loras    42) Aubrie Fisher, Wartburg (AGWSR)

D3 Men’s Team: 13) Wartburg

Iowa Top 50 individual finishers: 22) Joe Freiburger, Wartburg (Western Dubuque)

D2 individual women: 13) Tiffany Christensen, Adams State (Eagle Grove).  Adams State won the team title with a record low score of 23.

D2 individual men: 6) Karim Achengli, NW Missouri was a NJCAA All American at Iowa Central  9) Jordan Ccope NW Missouri was a NJCAA All American at Iowa Central.  NW Missouri men finished 5th.   71) Skylar DeJong, Augustana, SD (Oskaloosa).  Augustana men finished 6th.

D1 individual women: 15) Cailie Logue, Iowa State   26) Amy Davis, Wisconsin (Amy’s mother Nan (Doak Davis) was a high school champion at now defunct Hedrick High School who went onto win B10 and NCAA titles at Iowa and USATF national titles as well.  Her father Barry was a 3X state wrestling champion at CR Prairie, a 3X D1 wrestling champion at Iowa, a Pan AM Games champion, 2X World championships medalist and a 2X Olympian, winning Silver in 1984. Davis recently retired as the long time head wrestling coach at Wisconsin.   55) Adva Cohen, New Mexico (NJCAA champion at Iowa Central.  110) Abby Kohut Jackson, Minnesota (Ballard).  Jackson ran #1 for the Gophers who finished 28th in the team race.   218) Trina Moreno, Utah (Urbandale).  Utah, coached by former Webster City prep Kyle Kepler finished 16th as a team.

D1 Men’s team: 4) Iowa State

D1 individual men: 1) Edwin Kurgat, Iowa State   43) Chad Johnson, Iowa State  51) Mitchell Day, Iowa State  72) Milo Greder, Iowa State   76) Addison Dehaven, Iowa State   85) Nate Mylenek, Iowa   95) Thomas Pollard, Iowa State (Gilbert)   122) Matthew Carmody, Notre Dame (DowlingCatholic)  174) David Too, Iowa State   189) Ryan Murphy, Arkansas (Linn Mar).

Link to ALL DIVISIONS College/University XC Championships: http://www.ustfccca.org/meets-results/national-championships-central