Jasmine Staebler-Clayton Ridge-ISU
©Jim Kirby

Iowans Among Cyclones Recognized For Academics

Thomas Pollard-Gilbert-ISU ©Jim Kirby

Thomas Pollard-Gilbert-ISU
©Jim Kirby

The Iowa State track and field squads were recognized for their strong work in the classroom by the United States Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) Friday.

Courtesy Cyclones Athletics, click here! Feature photo: Jasmine Staebler-Clayton Ridge-ISU ©Jim Kirby

Both the Iowa State men’s and women’s track and field teams were bestowed with the NCAA DI Track and Field Team Academic Awards.

Individually, 10 Cyclones were named All-Academic Individuals. Honorees on the men’s team included Derek Jones, Andrew Jordan and Thomas Pollard. On the women’s side, the honorees were Anne Frisbie, Evelyne Guay, Erin Hooker, Ariana Kuhn, Kelly Naumann, Jasmine Staebler and Erinn Stenman-Fahey. Pollard and Frisbie were named Cross Country All-Academic recipients in February.

To be eligible for the team award, teams must have a cumulative team GPA of at least 3.0. To earn the individual award, student-athletes must have at least a cumulative GPA of 3.25, and either rank in the top-96 nationally in an event, or compete at any round of the NCAA Championships.