Jasmine Stabler-Clayton Ridge-ISU
©Mike Byrnes

Cyclones Send Split Squads to Stanford and Iowa

Thomas Pollard-Gilbert-ISU ©Jim Kirby

Thomas Pollard-Gilbert-ISU
©Jim Kirby

The Iowa State track and field teams split up for the final time in 2017 this weekend. Select distance runners will be traveling to Stanford for the Cardinal Classic on Friday and Saturday, while the rest of the ISU squad will go to Iowa City for the Musco Twilight on Saturday.

Courtesy Cyclone Athletics, click here!  Feature photo: Jasmine Stabler-Clayton Ridge-ISU ©Mike Byrnes

The meet at Stanford will be shown live on FloTrack, here, and will have live results provided by Record Timing here. The Musco Twilight will not have live video, with Wayzata Results doing live results, here.

The Cyclones’ crew at Stanford will be looking to hit times that will put them in the top-48 in the West Region to qualify for the NCAA West Prelims in a month’s time. On the men’s side, Dan Curts‘ 1,500 time 3:44.10 last weekend puts him on the right side of the bubble, but he will be looking to cut a couple tenths more off his time to guarantee his qualification. In the men’s 5,000, Thomas Pollard and Nathan Rodriguez are back at Stanford for a second effort, while Andrew Jordan and John Nownes will be making season debuts in the 5K.

On the women’s side, Indoor First Team All-American Jasmine Staebler will begin her outdoor season on Friday with the 800, and then the 1,500 on Saturday. Erinn Stenman-Fahey will also be doing the 800-1,500 double this weekend, while Evelyne Guay will look to improve on her career-best 4:22.32 effort in the 1,500 at Stanford three weeks ago.

Meanwhile in Iowa City, the Cyclones have a full-team slated to compete. Among the notable entries are Trever Ryen, back from spring football, in the 100, 200 and 4×100. 2016 All-American Derek Jones will be back in action, entered in the 400-meter hurdles, leading a group of six Cyclone entrants in the event. The Iowa State throwers have had a strong season, and will look to continue that success in Iowa City, with Chris Celona leading the hammer throwers, and Trey Achterhoff guiding the javelin crew.

The Cyclone women have a big group in the 1,500, with seven entries for the event, including Bethanie Brown, Anne Frisbie, Grace Gibbons, Erin Hooker and Kelly Naumann. Jhoanmy Luque is entered to compete in the long and triple jumps, while the full hammer throw squad led by Ariana Kuhn is also slated to be in action.

Iowa State Entries (as of Apr. 20, 9:30 AM)
Cardinal Classic
1,500m: Dan Curts
5,000m: Andrew Jordan, John Nownes, Thomas Pollard, Nathan Rodriguez

800m: Jasmine Staebler, Erinn Stenman-Fahey
1,500m: Evelyne Guay, Jasmine Staebler, Erinn Stenman-Fahey

Musco Twilight
100m: Trever Ryen, Orion Salters, Jomal Wiltz
200m: Jim Hoesley, Ben Kelly, Trever Ryen
400m: Wyatt Rhoads, Kyle Werning
3,000m: Greyson Dolezal
110m Hurdles: Devon Alvarado, Logan Schneider
400m Hurdles: Davis Eldridge, Finn Hoogensen, Derek Jones, Mitchell Nelsen, Will Seeser, Elijah Young
4×100 Relay: One Team
4×400 Relay: Two Teams
High Jump: Cody Durbin, Jalen Ford
Long Jump: Wyatt Rhoads
Shot Put: Zach Timm
Hammer Throw: Chris Celona, Vlad Pavlenko, Brett Peters
Javelin: Trey Achterhoff, Blake Hughes, Wyatt Rhoads

100m: Mariah Anderson, Tasha Frazier
200m: Mariah Anderson, Emma Whigham
800m: Larkin Chapman
1,500m: Bethanie Brown, Anne Frisbie, Grace Gibbons, Erin Hooker, Kelly Naumann, Megan Schott, Gwynne Wright
100m Hurdles: Tasha Frazier, Emma Whigham
4x100m Relay: One Team
Long Jump: Tasha Frazier, Jhoanmy Luque, Allanah McCorkle, Emma Whigham
Triple Jump: Jhoanmy Luque
High Jump: Katie Reeves
Hammer Throw: Tessa Krempel, Ariana Kuhn, Christabel Okeke, Megan Wiese
Javelin: Juana Castelli, Bailey Righi