Tiffany Christiansen-Eagle Grove-UNI
©Panthers Athletics 2018

Correy Leads Panthers at Conference

Brette Correy-W.Dubuque-UNI ©Panthers Athletics 2018

Brette Correy-W.Dubuque-UNI
©Panthers Athletics 2018

The University of Northern Iowa track and field program concluded the 2018 Missouri Valley Conference Indoor Championships on Sunday, with the Panthers posting a stellar closeout to the league capper.

Courtesy Panthers Athletics, click here! Feature photo: Tiffany Christiansen-Eagle Grove-UNI©Panthers Athletics 2018

A total of 16 Panthers earned All-Conference honors on Sunday, to add to UNI’s total and give the program 23 for the weekend. The Panther women finished third in the team standings after scoring 103.5 points on the weekend, while the men placed fourth after earning 86 points. Illinois State swept both conference crowns for the women and men.

Senior Brette Correy and freshman Lauren Beauchamp won individual conference titles in their respective events, with Correy winning her second-career MVC title in the 800-meter and Beauchamp claiming her first in the pole vault. Correy’s conference crown on Sunday was her second overall for the weekend, after winning the distance medley for UNI on Saturday night.

The win for UNI in the 800-meter marked the third time in four years the Panthers have won the league crown for the event, while the win in the pole vault was UNI’s first since Kayleen Popp took the event in 2003.

Correy was also honored with the MVC’s Elite 17 Award, becoming the first Panther to win the academic award twice for the women. The Elite 17 Award is given to the athlete with the highest GPA at each conference championship.

The day began with Tiffany Christensen and Evan Long claiming All-Conference honors in the mile and 400-meter, after the pair each placed third in their respective events. Jordan Pingel continued the success for the men on the track, after placing third in the 800-meter for his first All-MVC honor as a Panther.

Moving into field action, the Panther duo of Maria Gonzalez and Kassidy Sharp went back-to-back in the high jump to earn All-MVC distinctions. The honor was the first for Gonzalez and the second for Sharp.

Continuing in field action, the quartet of Darius King, Keegan Tritle, Isaac Holtz and Billy Blaserracked up points for the men’s squad, but narrowly missed out on All-MVC honors after finishing fourth, fifth, sixth and eighth respectively.

To close out the day, the 4×400 relay team of Sven Van Den Bergh, Jojo Frost, Jacob Smith, Evan Long placed second in the event, racking up points for the Panthers and earning All-MVC laurels in the process.

For more information on the UNI track and field program, follow the Panthers on Twitter at “@UNITrackFieldXC” and on Facebook at “UNI Track and Field.”


60: Isaiah Trousil (4th,6.86)
200: Jacob Smith (5th, 21.96), Jojo Frost (7th, 22.17)
400: Evan Long (3rd, 48.30), Jacob Smith (4th, 48.30), Jojo Frost (5th, 48.54)
800: Jordan Pingel (3rd, 1:55.64)
60h: Cole Phillips (4th, 8.09)
4×400: Sven Van Den Bergh, Jojo Frost, Jacob Smith, Evan Long (2nd, 3:15.03)
SP: Darius King (4th, 59-7.50), Keegan Tritle (5th, 59-3.00), Isaac Holtz (6th, 58-2.00), Billy Blaser(8th, 57-2.75)
HJ: Cameron Cantrall (6th, 6-7.50)

200: Maddie Bell (6th, 24.77)
400: Maddie Irmen (7th, 57.10)
800: Brette Correy (1st, 2:09.82), Lyndsie Schinkel (5th, 2:12.43), Dianna Slight (8th, 2:15.83)
3000: MaKayla Cole (5th, 9:56.56), Tiffany Christensen (8th, 10:01.59)
4×400: Maddie Bell, Maddie Irmen, Brette Correy, Jolissa Kriegel (4th, 3:52.94)
HJ: Maria Gonzalez (2nd, 5-6.50), Kassidy Sharp (3rd, 5-6.50), Marissa Ward (6th, 5-5.25), Brooke Lorenz (8th, 5-4.25)
PV: Lauren Beauchamp (1st, 12-4.00)

UNI MVC Award Winners

Conference Champions

Lauren Beauchamp (Pole Vault)
Brette Correy (DMR, 800)
Maddie Irmen (DMR)
Ashley Norem (DMR)
Lyndsie Schinkel (DMR)

Elite 17 Award
Brette Correy


Lauren Beauchamp (Pole vault)
Tiffany Christensen (Mile)
Brette Correy (DMR, 800)
Maria Gonzalez (High jump)
Maddie Irmen (DMR)
Lauren Frederick (Pentathlon)
Alanna Nietert (Weight throw)
Ashley Norem (DMR)
Sarah Pate (Weight throw)
Lyndsie Schinkel (DMR)
Kassidy Sharp (High jump)

Jojo Frost (4×400)
Evan Long (400, 4×400)
Jordan Pingel (800)
Jacob Smith (4×400)
Sven Van Den Bergh (4×400)