Miranda Leek’s Olympic Competition Schedule!

Miranda Leek, Dowling Catholic, will be making her Olympic debut in London one week from today.  On Friday July, 27, Miranda will compete in both the individual and team Archery competition.  The Archery competition begins at 7:00 AM on the 27th.  If things go well for Miranda on the 27th, she could compete for the next week!
The following is the complete Olympic Games Archery schedule CLICK HERE!

We Claim Jenny Simpson as Our Own!!!!

Jenny Barringer Simpson was born in Webster City and still has quite a number of relatives who call Iowa home.  Barringer-Simpson had an outstanding career at Colorado, winning 3 NCAA titles, and has been even more impressive as a professional.  She is a 5 time USA champion (1500m/steeplechase), a 2008 Olympian in the steeplechase and is the American record holder in the steeplechase as well.  Jenny will compete in Monaco tonight, her final “tune up” before The Games.
See this story by CLICKING HERE!!!
Also Here is a link to Monaco meet start lists in which Jenny will be competing in:  CLICK HERE!

Our Iowa Olympians Competition Schedule!

We are 1 week (July 27) away from the opening ceremonies for the 2012 Olympic Games being held in London,  and 2 weeks from the first track event (August 3).  We have 4 native Iowans competing and they will compete on the following days, at least.  (More if they qualify to the finals).
  • August 3-AG Kruger, Sheldon/Morningside, Hammer Throw qualifying round.
  • August 3-Lisa Koll Uhl, Ft. Dodge/ISU, 10,000M run final only. No prelims.
  • August 6-Lolo Jones, DM Roosevelt/LSU, 100H prelims.
  • August 6-Jenny Barringer Simpson, Webster City/Colorado, 1500M run prelims.
  • TBA: Women’s Archery-Miranda Leeks, Dowling Catholic/Texas A&M 
For a user friendly schedule link CLICK HERE!

Ashley’s Big Year!

Ashley Miller’s senior year at Nebraska was a whirlwind.  Big 10 champion, indoors and out.  Indoor All American.  Olympic Trials semi finalist.  First place in her professional debut. Now the former Tipton prep garners yet another honor!  CLICK HERE!

Tyler Mulder: What’s Next?

Tyler Mulder, Unity Christian/UNI, fresh off a 1:44.75 PB in Lignano, Italy, will be running against another tough 800 field in Warsaw, Poland this Saturday the 21st.
Among the field of 11 will be NCAA Champion Charles Jock and Kenyan Boaz Lalang. The 2010 season was a very successful year for Lalang, setting all of his outdoor personal records, including his 800 meter time of 1:42.95. Lalang earned a silver medal in the 800 meters at the World Indoor Championships. At the 2010 Commonwealth Games, Lalang earned a gold medal in the 800-meters. He also participated in the 2008 Olympic Games, finishing third in the semifinals at 1:45.87. Lalang beat Bernard Lagat in the 2010 Drake Relays 1 mile run, running 3:56.14.  For start lists CLICK HERE!



“The Idea of a Recovery Run”

Anyone who discovers running and dares to embrace it has the potential and possibilities of learning some incredible life lessons at some point will become familiar with the idea of the recovery run.  For non-runners, the concept of running more miles in order to recover from other, more intense running activities likely sounds counter intuitive, but for the more serious runner, the recovery run is perhaps the most important run of a training program week and even more, it can be the more enjoyable and most social run of all.   Read more

ISU Track Facilities Upgrade 1.1

Meagan Nelson will be a senior at ISU

Iowa State is working to hard to take their track programs and their facilities to the top of the Big 12.  They are in the process of building a new outdoor sports complex, that along with the 300M indoor track at the Lied Center will give the Cyclones some of the best track and field facilities in the midwest, if not the country.  Check it out CLICK HERE!

Miranda Leeks: checking out the Olympic Archery Venue

Miranda and her USA team take part in a first work out in the Olympic archery venue.


Ashley Miller 5th

Ashley Miller, Tipton/Nebraska, wraps up her first European tour as a professional by finishing 5th in the 800M in Gent, Belgium.  Lemlem Bereket of Canada was the winner in 2:03.23.  The USA, led by Erica Moores 2nd place finish in 2:03.26 finished 2-5.
Ashley will return to Austin, Texas, July 20, to continue training.

Miller Selected as 2012 NCAA Woman of the Year Nominee

Lincoln, Neb. – Three-time track and field All-American Ashley Miller has been selected as a 2012 NCAA Woman of the Year nominee. She is one of 429 female student-athletes across NCAA Divisions I, II and III who were nominated for the 22nd annual NCAA Woman of the Year award.

Miller was a four-time conference champion for Coach Gary Pepin’s track and field squad, capturing three Big Ten titles in her senior season. She led the Husker women to their first Big Ten Indoor Championship in February, while helping NU to a second-place finish at the 2012 Big Ten Outdoor Championships. She has also been a part of three school record-breaking performances during her time at Nebraska. In addition to her accomplishments on the track, Miller has excelled in the classroom. She was a 2011 second-team CoSIDA Academic All-American as well as being named a first-team CoSIDA Academic All-District VII honoree in 2011 and a second-team CoSIDA Academic All-District VII honoree in 2012. She was selected as a Big Ten Medal of Honor recipient and the 2011-12 Nebraska Female Student-Athlete of the Year.

The award honors graduating female student-athletes who have distinguished themselves throughout their collegiate careers in areas of academic achievement, athletics excellence, service and leadership. Conferences select one or two women from the nominees to represent their conference and those names are then sent to the Woman of the Year selection committee, which chooses the top 10 honorees in each division. The top nine finalists will be announced in September, while members of the NCAA Committee on Women’s Athletics will vote on the finalists to determine the 2012 Woman of the Year. The winner will be announced at the annual ceremony in Indianapolis on Oct. 14.