Miranda Leek Update: “Another Great Day in London”

Another great day in London! Today started out with a press conference, which I’m told I handled pretty well, so that’s definitely a plus! Then we shot in the afternoon at Lord’s Cricket Ground, our official venue, and I had a pretty good day of training. I’ve been shooting really strong recently and figuring out even more tips to help my technique along just a bit. We start competition in 2 days now! I am so eager to get the show on the road :)




With the opening ceremony of the 2012 Olympic Games now just one week away, Lady Tiger great Lolo Jones, DM Roosevelt, is one of three U.S. Olympians gracing the cover for the July 30 issue of TIME Magazine that hit newsstands across the country on Friday morning.

TIME has created five separate covers for its preview issue of this year’s Olympic Games in London with the opening ceremony scheduled for July 27 at the Olympic Stadium.  Jones joins swimmer Ryan Lochte and gymnast Gabby Douglas on the three covers released in the United States. British heptathlete Jessica Ennis is the cover in Europe, Africa and the Middle East while Japanese soccer star Homare Sawa is featured on the TIME cover in Asia.

Along with a portrait image of Jones firing out of the blocks is the cover caption “Four years after an epic stumble, Lolo Jones is back for gold” as a teaser for TIME’s feature on Jones’ return to the Olympic stage following her famous stumble in Beijing. Jones had the gold medal within her grasp while leading the 100 hurdles final, but stumbled to a seventh-place finish after hitting the ninth hurdle in the race.

Jones earned a trip back to the Olympic Games with her third-place finish in the 100-meter hurdles during the U.S. Olympic Track & Field Trials held last month in Eugene, Ore. She owns a seasonal-best effort of 12.74 seconds as she prepares to run in the first round at the Olympic Games on Monday, Aug. 6.

The semifinal and final rounds of the women’s 100-meter hurdles will be held at the Olympic Stadium on Tuesday, Aug. 7, with the semifinals running at 1:15 p.m. CT and the final following at 3 p.m.

Matt Clark-Ames-UNI Chasing His Olympic Dream!

Mat Clark was an outstanding high school athlete at Ames High, then went on to UNI where he became a Missouri Valley Conference Champion and a 3 time All American in the Combined Events.  The 2 time Drake Relays champion still chases his Olympic dream and will compete on Team USA, in the Decathlon, this weekend in Germany. Read more

Miranda Leek’s Olympic Competition Schedule!

Miranda Leek, Dowling Catholic, will be making her Olympic debut in London one week from today.  On Friday July, 27, Miranda will compete in both the individual and team Archery competition.  The Archery competition begins at 7:00 AM on the 27th.  If things go well for Miranda on the 27th, she could compete for the next week!
The following is the complete Olympic Games Archery schedule CLICK HERE!

We Claim Jenny Simpson as Our Own!!!!

Jenny Barringer Simpson was born in Webster City and still has quite a number of relatives who call Iowa home.  Barringer-Simpson had an outstanding career at Colorado, winning 3 NCAA titles, and has been even more impressive as a professional.  She is a 5 time USA champion (1500m/steeplechase), a 2008 Olympian in the steeplechase and is the American record holder in the steeplechase as well.  Jenny will compete in Monaco tonight, her final “tune up” before The Games.
See this story by CLICKING HERE!!!
Also Here is a link to Monaco meet start lists in which Jenny will be competing in:  CLICK HERE!

Our Iowa Olympians Competition Schedule!

We are 1 week (July 27) away from the opening ceremonies for the 2012 Olympic Games being held in London,  and 2 weeks from the first track event (August 3).  We have 4 native Iowans competing and they will compete on the following days, at least.  (More if they qualify to the finals).
  • August 3-AG Kruger, Sheldon/Morningside, Hammer Throw qualifying round.
  • August 3-Lisa Koll Uhl, Ft. Dodge/ISU, 10,000M run final only. No prelims.
  • August 6-Lolo Jones, DM Roosevelt/LSU, 100H prelims.
  • August 6-Jenny Barringer Simpson, Webster City/Colorado, 1500M run prelims.
  • TBA: Women’s Archery-Miranda Leeks, Dowling Catholic/Texas A&M 
For a user friendly schedule link CLICK HERE!

Ashley’s Big Year!

Ashley Miller’s senior year at Nebraska was a whirlwind.  Big 10 champion, indoors and out.  Indoor All American.  Olympic Trials semi finalist.  First place in her professional debut. Now the former Tipton prep garners yet another honor!  CLICK HERE!

Tyler Mulder: What’s Next?

Tyler Mulder, Unity Christian/UNI, fresh off a 1:44.75 PB in Lignano, Italy, will be running against another tough 800 field in Warsaw, Poland this Saturday the 21st.
Among the field of 11 will be NCAA Champion Charles Jock and Kenyan Boaz Lalang. The 2010 season was a very successful year for Lalang, setting all of his outdoor personal records, including his 800 meter time of 1:42.95. Lalang earned a silver medal in the 800 meters at the World Indoor Championships. At the 2010 Commonwealth Games, Lalang earned a gold medal in the 800-meters. He also participated in the 2008 Olympic Games, finishing third in the semifinals at 1:45.87. Lalang beat Bernard Lagat in the 2010 Drake Relays 1 mile run, running 3:56.14.  For start lists CLICK HERE!



“The Idea of a Recovery Run”

Anyone who discovers running and dares to embrace it has the potential and possibilities of learning some incredible life lessons at some point will become familiar with the idea of the recovery run.  For non-runners, the concept of running more miles in order to recover from other, more intense running activities likely sounds counter intuitive, but for the more serious runner, the recovery run is perhaps the most important run of a training program week and even more, it can be the more enjoyable and most social run of all.   Read more